»I particularly like the serene and vivid layout of the whole. It is so refreshing in comparison to the formlessness and turmoil that is currently common in organ music.«

Albert Schweitzer on the Legend op. 29, 1910

News

Bunk's Legende for Organ and Brass Quartet op. 55a, composed at Christmas 1914 − in the Bielefeld environment of the "Posaunengeneral" ("Brass General") Johannes Kuhlo and written at the same time as the later so-called "Christmas peace" during the First World War − was published by Bärenreiter in July 2022.

Baritone Falko Hönisch and pianist André Dolabella have recorded almost all of Gerard Bunk's nearly ninety lieder with piano. The extensive project was funded by the Deutscher Musikrat − listen to it on the Gerard Bunk YouTube channel.

Bunk's song Dorfkirche im Sommer, written in 1909 on the heretical text of Detlev von Liliencron, was first published as a facsimile of the manuscript in the third issue 2022 of the journal Ars Organi.

»Besonders gefällt mir die ruhige und plastische Anlage des Ganzen. Das wirkt so wohlthuend im Vergleich zu der Formlosigkeit und Unruhe, die jetzt für Orgelcompositionen im Gebrauch ist.«

Albert Schweitzer über die Legende op. 29, 1910

News

Bunks Weihnachten 1914 komponierte Legende für Orgel und Blechbläser-Quartett op. 55a − im Bielefelder Umfeld des »Posaunengenerals« Johannes Kuhlo und zeitgleich zum später so genannten »Weihnachtsfrieden« im ersten Weltkrieg entstanden − ist im Juli 2022 im Bärenreiter-Verlag erschienen.

Nahezu sämtliche knapp neunzig Klavierlieder von Gerard Bunk haben der Bariton Falko Hönisch und der Pianist André Dolabella aufgenommen. Das umfangreiche Projekt wurde vom Deutschen Musikrat gefördert − anzuhören auf dem Gerard-Bunk-YouTube-Kanal.

Bunks 1909 auf den ketzerischen Text Detlev von Liliencrons entstandenes Lied Dorfkirche im Sommer ist als Faksimile der Handschrift im dritten Heft 2022 der Zeitschrift Ars Organi erstveröffentlicht worden.